State of Texas County of Bexar City of San Antonio



Meeting Minutes Public Comment Session

City Hall Complex San Antonio, Texas 78205

2021 - 2023 Council Members

Mayor Ron Nirenberg

Mario Bravo, Dist. 1 | Jalen McKee-Rodriguez, Dist. 2

Phyllis Viagran, Dist. 3 | Dr. Adriana Rocha Garcia, Dist. 4

Teri Castillo, Dist. 5 | Melissa Cabello Havrda, Dist. 6

Ana Sandoval, Dist. 7 | Manny Pelaez, Dist. 8

John Courage, Dist. 9 | Michael Gallagher, Dist. 10

Wednesday, December 14, 2022

5:00 PM

Municipal Plaza Building

The City Council convened a regular meeting in the Norma S. Rodriguez Council Chamber in the Municipal Plaza Building beginning at 5:37 PM. City Clerk Debbie Racca-Sittre took the Roll Call noting a quorum with the following Council Members present:

PRESENT: 7 – Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Castillo, Sandoval, Courage, Gallagher

ABSENT: 4 - Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Cabello Havrda, Pelaez

PUBLIC HEARING

1. Public Hearing for proposed Substantial Amendment to the Neighborhood Stabilization Program Action Plan for the allocation of \$1,310,404.01 from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban

Development, and to include \$500,000.00 that was previously awarded to Cross Timber Homes in the Action Plan resubmission. [Lori Houston, Assistant City Manager; Veronica Garcia, Director, Neighborhood and Housing Services Department]

Mayor Nirenberg called the meeting to order noting a quorum was present. Mayor Nirenberg opened the Public Hearing at 5:52 PM and read the Item caption aloud.

There were no members of the public in attendance signed up to speak on the Public Hearing.

Mayor Nirenberg closed the Public Hearing at 5:53 PM.

PUBLIC COMMENT

2. Public Comment is your opportunity to address your City of San Antonio elected officials directly about issues that are important to you and your community. To sign up to speak visit www.saspeakup.com. Click on meetings and events and select the meeting you'd like to participate in. Sign up to speak or submit a written comment. Members of the public are given up to three minutes to speak, and groups are given up to nine minutes.

Chris Forbrich, Brandon Rogers, Evan Campbell, William Kofalt, Jonathan Marquis, John Carr, Tena Francesco, James Francesco, Joe Garcia, Alexander Carr, Shelly Chance, Paige Hunter, Kathryn Stephens, Jose Garcia, Rose Hill, Jackie Verna, Chris Davis, Stephanie Garcia, Cindy Healer, Grace Rose Gonzales, Christina Flesher, Emily Doherty, Lisa Barnes, Noah Tillman-Young, Sam Parker, and Ginger Dispain spoke in opposition to the elimination of Horse Drawn Carriages in Downtown San Antonio.

Kathryn Stephens read a letter from Robert Hall in opposition to the elimination of Horse Drawn Carriages in Downtown San Antonio.

Cindy Healer read a letter from Mindy Patterson, President and Co-Founder of The Cavalry Group, LLC in opposition to the elimination of Horse Drawn Carriages in Downtown San Antonio.

Christina Flesher read a letter from Veterinarian, Benjamin Epsy, which stated that the horses were treated well and were very healthy.

Emily Doherty read a letter from Bexar County Commissioner Tommy Calvert in opposition to the elimination of Horse Drawn Carriages in Downtown San Antonio.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further comment, Mayor Nirenberg adjourned the meeting at 7:35 PM.

Approved

Ron Nirenberg Mayor

Debbie Racca-Sittre City Clerk